Penalties for Third DWI Offenses in Texas
Consequences for Third and Subsequent DWI in the State of Texas
The greater the number of times you have been charged or convicted of operating a motor vehicle (including boats) while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, the more painful the penalties for conviction will be.
If you have already been convicted of DWI twice and are facing the possibility of a third DWI, there are a few things you should know:
- You will be automatically subject to driver’s license suspension and fines, whether or not you are ultimately convicted of the charges issued against you.
- After failing or declining to submit to a chemical test, law enforcement can (and likely will) take away your license for 90 days (180 days if you have been arrested for, charged with, or convicted of DWI within the past 5 years).
- You have 15 days in which to contest your suspension and notify your local DMV. Failure to do so will result in an automatic, 1-year suspension of your license, regardless of the outcome of your criminal case.
- Since you have previously been convicted of DUI, you will not be eligible to obtain an occupational license, which would allow you to drive to and from work, school, etc.
In addition to administrative penalties and fees, a third or subsequent DWI conviction (which is a third-degree felony in Texas) will result in harsh criminal punishment, which can include:
- Fines of up to $10,000 (in addition to other fees)
- Up to ten years in Texas state prison
- Up to 600 hours of community service
- Mandatory attendance of a DWI Impact Panel
- Mandatory use of an ignition interlock device after release from jail
We Represent Dallas Drivers Charged with DWI
At Crain Lewis Brogdon, LLP, we know Texas DWI laws inside and out. For more than 20 years we have helped Dallas drivers hold onto their drivers’ licenses, obtain charge dismissal and reduced sentencing where possible, and defend themselves against harsh or unfair treatment by members of law enforcement. If you have been charged with a third or subsequent DWI, you are facing very serious penalties and you must seek legal representation as soon as possible. Connect with a member of our team today to schedule your free, no-obligation consultation and get the wise counsel you need during this time.
Call (214) 301-5007 to speak to a Dallas DWI attorney.