What You Should Know About Your Second DWI
In the state of Texas, a second DWI offense is considered a Class A misdemeanor, and packs some stiff penalties, including mandatory jail time. Penalties for a second offense DWI may be enforced prior to the commencement of one’s trial, which is meant to assess the actions of the arresting officer rather than to determine any guilt or innocence.
While jail time is mandatory, it can range anywhere from one month to a year. Additionally, it will cost $125 to reinstate your license, which will be suspended anywhere between 180 days to 2 years and, under the Texas Driver Responsibility Program, you must pay up to $2,000 annually for three years to keep your license from being revoked. That fee is not the only cost associated with a second offense DWI. There is an additional fine of up to $4,000. Although it is not mandatory, a judge may potentially order that you serve at least 80 hours of community service and possible rehabilitative treatment if the court finds that you have a substance abuse problem.
It is important that, if asked to submit to chemical test, you do so. In the state of Texas, operating a motor vehicle means that you are subject to what is known as the “implied consent” rule. Therefore, refusing a chemical test can lead to you losing your license.
It is incredibly important that, once you find yourself in this position, you seek legal help to guide you through this process and help procure the best possible outcome. You, of course, have the right to represent yourself, but why risk your future? This is a serious charge and you need an experienced ally by your side.
At Crain Lewis Brogdon, LLP, we know how to protect your rights every step of the way. Schedule your free consultation with us and call 214-301-5007.